A Bit Too Far

Ok.. so I know this site is for “tricks that actually work”, but if I am going to teach people how to be a scammer, I have got to show you there are limits to what you can get away with.  Listen to what happened yesterday and take notes 🙂

This is as close to the actual phone conversation as I can remember:

Me:  “Thank you for calling Ray’s Chop House, this is Skip, how may I help you?”

Mr. Wilson:  “I need to speak to the manager”

Me:  “This is the manager, how may I help you?”

Mr. Wilson:  “What is the number to your home office?  I want to report a horrible experience”

Nice try, but over done.  Threatening the home office gets the manager’s attention, however, we live in the technology age and I am pretty sure this simple minded man knows how to get the home office number without asking for a manager so this may alert the manager that you are a scammer.  And, when you read the whole story, you will see he knows the number already.

Me: “Sir, I can certainly give you the number, but is there anything I can do to help?”

This, of course, is what he wanted to hear and he is probably thinking he is about to score

Mr. Wilson:  “Well, I was in there a few days ago and had the worst service I have ever had in my life.  We came to the restaurant for dinner.  We had to wait at the front door for almost 15 minutes just to get greeted.  Once we were sat, we waited another 10 minutes for our server to show up.  The server shows up, takes our drink order and then we wait another 15 minutes for the server to come back with the drinks.  At this point we are getting very aggravated, but are extremely hungry so we decide to stay.  After bringing our drinks, the server takes our food order.  ANOTHER 40 minutes we wait for our food and when we get it, it is not what we ordered.  We were so frustrated after being there for almost 2 hours (a little side note here, I am quoting his time quotes exactly and I am pretty sure we haven’t reached 90 minutes yet, but I keep listening) that we decided to go ahead and eat the food.  IT WAS HORRIBLE.  My wife wanted to send hers back as it was making her sick, but the server never came back to the table.  We finally asked for the check, paid and left.  My wife told me not to call because she will never come back, but I couldn’t let it go.”

So far, other than poor math, this is remotely possible and could end up being a free meal.

Me:  “Wow, I can see why you would be so upset.  I am shocked this could happen in my restaurant”

Mr. Wilson:  (feels pretty good because it appears I have bought it and he is about to land the big one)  “Well imagine how shocked we were, we were the ones that wasted over $100 on this experience”

Now Mr. Wilson has got me on his side AND he has thrown out the amount he is fishing for – well played, but I am about to change his mood

Me:  “Sir, I want to apologize first of all for what happened and I would like to ask you a few questions so that I can assure this never happens again.”

Me: “Do you have a copy of your receipt?”

Mr. Wilson:  “We never grabbed it off the table because we were so upset we just wanted to get out of there”

Me:  “That is understandable.  Do you remember your server’s name?”

Mr. Wilson:  “We only saw him a few times and he never told us”

Me:  “Do you remember what he looked like?”

Mr. Wilson:  “I think he had dark hair, but again, we hardly ever saw him”

Me:  “Ok, what night did you say you came in?”

Mr. Wilson:  “it was a few nights ago”

Me:  “Do you remember what night?  Was it Saturday, Sunday or Monday?”

Mr. Wilson:  “I think it was Saturday”

Me:  “WHAT??!!!  YOU HAD THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF YOUR LIFE!  YOU REMEMBER HOW MUCH THE BILL WAS AND HOW LONG EACH STEP OF YOUR DINNER TOOK, BUT YOU CAN’T REMEMBER WHAT NIGHT IT WAS???!!!  ARE YOU STUPID???!!!  OR ARE YOU JUST MAKING ALL THIS UP YOU IDIOT??!!!”  Then I SLAM the phone into his imaginary head on the wall.

Ok, you got me, I didn’t say that – but came close.

Me: (for real this time) “so you think it might have been saturday?”

Mr. Wilson:  “yeah, I am pretty sure.”

Me:  “Do you remember about where you were sitting?”

Mr. Wilson:  “We were in a booth”

Me:  “Well, Mr. Wilson, we have a very good security camera system, if you can tell me about where you were sitting, I can find the table that sat for 2 hours and determine who the server was”

Mr. Wilson: (now feeling the heat and knowing this may fail he gets frustrated)  “I don’t have time to answer all these questions, are you going to help me or not?”

Me:  “Yes, Mr. Wilson, I am trying to help you, but I need some information in order to see exactly what happened so we can not only take care of you, but make sure it doesn’t happen again.”

Mr. Wilson:  “I told you what happened”

Me:  “Sir, you don’t know what day you came, you don’t have a receipt and you don’t know what your server looked like.  I have nothing to go on to do any kind of research”

Mr. Wilson:  (desperate now as his plan is failing) “I DIDN’T KNOW IT WAS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO RECORD EVERYTHING FOR YOU WHEN I HAD A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.  BECAUSE I DIDN’T DO MY JOB, I GET SCREWED?!”

Me:  No Mr. Wilson, It is not your responsibility to record everything, but understand that in order for me to do my job and take care of you, I have to have some sort of information that I can use to justify to my boss what I am doing.

Mr. Wilson:  “FORGET IT THEN.  I WILL JUST CALL THE HOME OFFICE!!” and he hangs up.

Just a few pointers for you….  Don’t call up a restaurant and complain about an experience you never had as you might get called out..  It helps if you actually go eat at the restaurant before you complain.  If you are trying to get a free meal without all the work of going to a restaurant, please read my last blog as I explain exactly how to scam without too much effort.

Also, don’t threaten to call the home office that you didn’t have the number for at the beginning of the call AFTER the manager finds out you are lying as he can now alert them of your pending phone call and they will not give you anything either.

By the way, those of you that are waiting for more great scamming ideas, I am sure I will have one soon 🙂

Remember to ‘LIKE’ our Facebook page at:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/101-Ways-to-Eat-Out-Free/385973711438455

This entry was posted in Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

